RBC lunch buffet, Singapore food festival.

Dear Blog,

The more I go for buffets the more I feel the urge to get a d90.

So yesterday, my friends and I decided to make a very hungry(we all skipped breakfast) lunch visit to RBC. We were very excited when we spotted a banner with ‘Singapore food festival’ printed on it. Somehow the first thing that came to mind was ‘char kueh tiaw’! The sight of ‘teh tarik’ on a table as we were walking to our table excited me. I really missed the teh tarik I had in Singapore.

A salad bar stood just a few feet opposite our table. Nothing too fancy on the bar, just a few local tomatoes, cauliflower and lettuce along side different dressings. Perhaps the only things Singaporean were their ‘tang hoon salad’, a spicy pineapple salad and not forgetting their ‘rojak’ . However the artichoke salad did excite me a little(I’ve never had artichoke in my life before).

We were expecting another friend so I decided to venture on the menu first. Me being me I started pondering around the dessert corner, full spirited!

This is a shot of a friend’s dessert plate.

Despite all the colourful dessert displays I decided to indulge on their bread pudding first considering that they were nearly on a run out. Smart thinking I would say! 🙂 And still we have no idea what was on for the main course.

And these were for the main course, well…nearly.

Honestly I found it really dissapointing how they had so little choices on the table and most of the dishes were rather local. No Singapore’s signature chilli crab, no the famous Singapore laksa . Nothing like those you see on AFC and the ‘teh tarik’ the lady had must have been a $6 side order. Sad!

However we ended the buffet with generous scoops of chocolate, vanilla, strawberry and yam ice cream…well…at least a friend did.

To wrap it up the food didn’t exactly taste bad. The only thing that dissapointed me was of course the menu itself . I expected to see a more multicultured food choice. Of course they had the Indian ‘martabak’, the Chinese stir fried mixed vegetables and the ‘soto ayam’ which fits comfortably in the Malay category but these were abit too boring for me.
Why bother spending $23 on food I can get at a lower prices from LOCAL stalls?

To make things worse I had a gastric that day.

Self note: Have at least a light breakfast before indulging on a lunch buffet to be able to put your money to good use!

char kueh tiaw : chinese fried rice noodle

teh tarik : indian pulled tea

tang hoon salad : glass noodle salad

rojak : fruit salad in a spicy peanut sauce

martabak : indian flat bread

soto ayam : rice or egg noodles in a chicken broth

Leave a comment