it’s all about the wordplay


Dear blog,
I’ve been chatting to someone I met recently for sometime now and it amazes me how she makes me realise how bad my English is.
I mean i’ve always had a thing for idioms. I like the idea of speaking English in privacy where not everyone would be able to understand you…well at least not with an excuse that I have a thick Indian accent. For you information, I like to believe i’m not too heavy on the Indian side when it comes to that. I love how it poetically plays with your English understanding. In fact I love flaunting them on my MSN nicks and of course to that one person I’ve been dying to inbox “Stealing gold from the silver you see eh?” and leave her all baffled up with what I was trying to tell her…well if she is even bothered. Wait, why are we talking about her again?
So right, Nicky has been playing idiom games with me for a few days now and i’ve been intimidated ever since. There were times I felt like bring my idiom dictionary along to MSN.
“you just burst my Shane bubble”
“come on….cut me some slack”
“Had my lawyers head for breakfast”
added:
“something about you that got under my skin”
“i cant ever sing for a penny….”

Well these are just the few examples of alien sentences she’s been bombarding me with, I have no good/bad habit of auto saving my MSN conversations simply because clearing up the junk is annoying! As for me i’m enjoying all the chats i’ve been having with this interesting Sinhalese woman, many more idioms to look forward to.

Leave a comment